Star in the Jar by Sam Hay

Star in the Jar by Sam Hay  (Author), Sarah Massini (Illustrator)

Paperback: 32 pages

Age Range: 3 – 5 years

Publisher: Egmont

An enchanting bedtime story for toddlers, perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers’ How To Catch a Star.

Up high, in the dark, dark sky . . . a message: LOST, ONE SMALL STAR.

When a little boy stumbles across a special star, he puts it in a jar and takes it on adventures. Together with his big sister, he takes his special treasure with him everywhere – to the cinema, to the swimming pool and even to the toilet!

But the poor star is sad and misses its home . . . Can the little boy and his big sister find a way to send the star safely back?

Sarah Massini’s artwork glows with warmth and humour and perfectly captures the friendship between the two siblings in this warm-hearted bedtime book. Told from the perspective of the big sister, this is the perfect picture book for siblings to share and read together. The short text and warm tone is ideal for toddlers aged 2 years and up.

‘A cheery, warm-hearted tale, beautifully told’ – The Guardian

‘Hay carefully keeps an even tone, never letting the whimsy descend into treacle and always maintaining a sense of wonder. Massini’s lively and imaginative illustrations beautifully complement and enhance the text, providing additional insights into the children’s activities and emotions’ – Kirkus Reviews

‘Perfect for sharing just before sleep but too enjoyable to be restricted to bedtime reading only’ – Red Reading Hub

Sam Hay grew up in Scotland in a family of bookworms. She always wanted to be a writer and filled endless notebooks with stories and poems. She trained as a journalist in Edinburgh and went on to work in newspapers for the BBC, before deciding to move to Wales and write her first children’s book. Since then she’s had more than 30 children’s books published including Do Not Wash this Bear, Princess Ice Palace and Dinosaurs United and the Cowardly Custard Pirates for Egmont UK.

Drawing has been a life-long habit for Sarah Massini which has seen her through careers in corporate design, children’s book design and now as an illustrator. She has illustrated several picture books including Books Always Everywhere, Zac and Zeb and the Make Believe Birthday Party and, most recently, a stunning edition of The Velveteen Rabbit. Sarah lives in Sussex with her husband, young son and her utterly mad terrier Tess, who keeps guard as she draws.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: