The Afterwards by A.F. Harrold

The Afterwards by A.F. Harrold (Author), Emily Gravett (Illustrator)

Hardcover:           224 pages

Age Rang:             9+ readers

Publisher:              Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Fact: Ember and Ness are best friends.

There’s nothing more to say about it. It is what it is. It is what will always be. Ember and Ness.

Then Ness dies. It is sudden and unexpected and leaves Ember completely empty. How can this be?

When Ember finds a way into the Afterworld, she determines to bring Ness back. Because that’s what friends do isn’t it? They rescue each other. They help. They never give up. Ember and Ness. That don’t change.

A powerful, poignant, darkly comic and deeply moving story about friendship at its most extraordinary.

A brave, challenging and beautifully written book that unflinchingly confronts death, grief and denial, but which is redeemed by a dark humour and, beneath everything, a beating heart of love (Daily Mail)

By turns scary and funny, touching without being sentimental, and beautifully illustrated by Emily Gravett, The Imaginary is a delight from start to finish (Financial Times on THE IMAGINARY)

A moving read about loyalty and belief in the extraordinary (Guardian on THE IMAGINARY)

This is young fiction of the very best quality, showcasing inspiration, inventiveness and an intoxicating passion for storytelling. The Imaginary has the potential to be a family favourite and a future classic (Booktrust on THE IMAGINARY)

Book Description

A powerful and poignant story about friendship from the magnificent pairing of A.F. Harrold and Emily Gravett, the creators of the critically acclaimed and award-winning The Imaginary. Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl