The Story Machine by Tom McLaughlin

The Story Machine by Tom McLaughlin  (Author)

Paperback:           32 pages

Age Range:           3 – 6 years

Publisher:              Bloomsbury Children’s Books

Elliott is a boy who likes to find things and, one day, he stumbles across a machine. At first, he can’t work out what the machine is for – it doesn’t beep or buzz like all his other machines and it doesn’t have an ON/OFF button. Then, quite by accident, Elliott makes the machine work. The machine makes letters! Elliott thinks it must be a story machine but, sadly, Elliott isn’t very good at letters and words. How can he make magical stories without them? But, wait, some of the letters look like pictures. Elliott is good at pictures and, as he discovers, pictures make stories.

An inspiring, uplifting picture book about the simple joys of a typewriter in a world of hi-tech machines. Perfect for fans of Oliver Jeffers.

Product description

Review

A winner of a book about the power of drawing and story telling (Oliver Jeffers)

A charming, rewarding, instructive read

(FT Financial Times)

Book Description

A captivating story about the magic of story telling – The Story Machine will capture your imagination and your heart!

 

Biography

TOM MCLAUGHLIN is the author/illustrator of The Diabolical Mr Tiddles (Simon and Schuster) and the illustrator of the Captain Boots series of picture books (Puffin). He loves drinking tea, eating lunch and drawing, and he would quite like to be a virtuoso banjo player. Tom lives in Devon. The Story Machine is his first book for Bloomsbury.

I write pictures and doodle words for Bloomsbury, Puffin, Oxford University Press, Simon & Schuster, Scholastic, The Guardian; Disney, Nickelodeon.

After leaving art college in ’97, I spent nearly 10 years as a political cartoonist for The Western Morning News before going freelance.

I’ve been published both as a writer and an illustrator for a number of publishers, had my books translated across Europe and South America. Apart from publishing, I’ve also spent time script writer and a character designer for several animation channels.

I spend most of my days drinking tea and dreaming up new stories